‘Upholstered’ Cork Board

Throughout the beginning stages of wedding planning, I was dead set on not having assigned tables for our guests.  Why would I want to tell my friends and family who they should sit with?  Enter: Wedding Season 2012.  Lee and I attended two weddings early this summer and we were told where to sit {the horror!}; I quickly changed my tune and decided this was probably the best route to take.

Since the unofficial theme of our wedding is comfortable and relaxed, I thought these table arrangements {suggestions, if you will} would eliminate the awkward “Are these seats taken?” questions to virtual strangers.  I want our guests to have fun and not have to worry about sitting with a random person who they have nothing in common with.  We’ve all been there and those make for a very awkward evenings.

I felt like I was making this life altering decision {I kid} so late in the game so time was running short.  I knew I wanted something a) easy and b) cheap.  No room in the budget for adorable little potted flowers or additional wedding favors so my options were pretty limited.  I came across this photo and the idea stuck with me; simple cork board-esque with guests names on pretty paper.  I just needed a way to make it more special.

image via Martha Stewart

Pam at Our Love Nest wrote about her crafty DIY cork board that was inspired by Chelsea’s post at Two Twenty One and I knew this was the solution.  Easy, crafty, and it looks pretty darn good!  I did what any modern girl would do and Pinned it to my Wedding Inspiration board. 🙂

Since I didn’t want to wait until the last minute to make one for the wedding, I decided a trial run was in order and picked up the supplies this weekend to get to work:

  • Cork board {duh} – I found this one at work and decided to revamp it for my office but they’re typically inexpensive at big box and craft stores.
  • Spray adhesive – When I first began spraying the cork board, it didn’t appear that it was becoming sticky enough but rest assured the fabric will hold tight
  • Fabric – Pretty fabric was hard for me to find actually.  I tried two other stores before running to Hancock Fabric and found that their selection of modern prints was pretty large and they had a nice sale happening.  I bought a yard of this fabric for $6 I think. {my board is about 18″x24″ and I needed a little less than 1 yard of fabric}
  • Tacks or decorative push pins – I used upholstery tacks found at Hobby Lobby and ended up using nearly all four packages.
  • Hot glue gun – I definitely felt official when purchasing this sucker to wrap the fabric around the back of the cork board.
  • Scissors, iron, snacks – for obvious reasons

This was such a simple idea and literally took minutes to complete {aside from pushing in the tacks for about an hour}.  Good thing I had my iPad to keep me company.

 

I’m still on the hunt for the perfect fabric to use for the wedding bulletin board but I’m so pleased with the way it turned out!  I hung this cork board in my office at work I think everyone loves it.  I might even make one for a co-worker…with such an easy set of instructions, it’s too fun not to 🙂

Leave a Reply

